Welcome to Rath, Muni's Resources! Thank you for taking the time to visit us! Take a second to peek around and check out some of our previous posts and view the admin's info. Of course, We would love to find out what you think as well, so make sure to comment. See you around! Thanks.

Latest Posts From Venerable Rath Muni

Latest Posts From Venerable Shravasti Dhammika

My Blog List

My Blog List

My Blog List

Kampuchea Krom at a glance

Tuesday, May 24, 2011


Originally posted at: Khmer Kampuchea Krom Community.

Kampuchea Krom is rich in history and civilized culture before the Vietnamese settlers arrived on the northern border with Champa Kingdom.

Kampuchea Krom is the oldest land in Southeast Asia.

The Khmers called this part of the Khmer Empire [Present day Kingdom of Cambodia], Kampuchea Krom. Kampuchea Krom is also known as Lower Cambodia, Mekong Delta, or Cochin China. The Khmer populations of this beautiful landscapes share the same race,
religion, national language, culture, custom, tradition, and great history as the Khmers in Cambodia. Kampuchea Krom is slightly smaller in size than her motherland, Kingdom of Cambodia.

Kampuchea Krom or Cochinchina becomes part of French Indochina on October 17, 1887.


Kampuchea Krom is composed of 68,965 square kilometers, 21 provinces and municipalities, two large islands - Koh Tral and Koh Tralach, 171 districts, 1,368 communes, 14,778 villages, more than 13 million Khmers, more than 567 Buddhist pagodas and more than 20,000 Theravada Buddhist monks.

99% of populations are Theravada Buddhists.

The Khmer kings, governments, regimes and citizens have never relinquish (give up) this part of their country to foreigners.

Kampuchea Krom has been under an ongoing colonial control since her division from motherland, Cambodia.

June 4, 1949 is the date that the Khmer Kampuchea Krom citizens grieve. The Khmer Kampuchea Krom people have organized Buddhist Service annually to honor the fallen Khmer Buddhist monks and heroes, who sacrificed their lives for Kampuchea Krom and Theravada Buddhism.

Colonial France divided, ceded and transferred Kampuchea Krom to colonial Vietnam on this date. The freedom of Khmer Kampuchea Krom has been mostly stripped by the Vietnamese ruling regimes and governments since. The French colonial administration committed injustice upon the more than 13 million Khmers of this beautiful fertile land.

Justice remains elusive for Cambodia, Kampuchea Krom and her citizens.

And...The struggle to regain freedom and human rights by the Khmers in Kampuchea Krom continues as long as injustice commits by the ruling Vietnamese regime(s) has not produced a fruitful result.

The followings are Khmer provincial, municipal and island names that the Vietnamese authorities have changed repeatedly.

1. Preah Trapeang province
in Vietnamese - Tra Vinh
(Vinh Binh)
circa 1731, 1840 Vietnamese encroached and conquered

2. Khleang province
in Vietnamese - Soc Trang
circa 1758, 1840 Vietnamese encroached and conquered

3. Mort Chrouk province
in Vietnamese - Chau Doc
circa 1715, 1757 Vietnamese encroached and conquered

4. Kramuon Sor province
in Vietnamese - Rach Gia
circa 1715, 1757, 1758 Vietnamese encroached and conquered

5. Pol Leav province
in Vietnamese - Bac Lieu
circa 1840 Vietnamese encroached and conquered

6. Tuk Khmau province
in Vietnamese - Ca Mau
circa 1840 Vietnamese encroached and conquered

7. Peam Banteay Meas province
in Vietnamese - Ha Tien
circa 1715 Vietnamese encroached and conquered

8. Prek Russey province
in Vietnamese - Can Tho
circa 1758, 1840 Vietnamese encroached and conquered

9. Long Hor province
in Vietnamese - Vinh Long
circa 1731 Vietnamese encroached and conquered

10. Peam Barach province
in Vietnamese - Long Xuyen
circa 1715, 1731 Vietnamese encroached and conquered

11. Raung Domrei province
in Vietnamese - Tay Ninh
circa 1770 Vietnamese encroached and conquered

12. Prey Nokor city
in Vietnamese - Ho Chi Minh city (Saigon)
circa 1696 Vietnamese encroached and conquered

13. Tuol Tamoak province
in Vietnamese - Thu Du Mot
circa 1696 Vietnamese encroached and conquered

14. Phsar Dek province
in Vietnamese - Sadec
circa 1757 Vietnamese encroached and conquered

15. Changva Trapeang Sraka Trey
province in Vietnamese - Bien Hoa
circa 1651 Vietnamese encroached and conquered

16. Me Sor province
in Vietnamese - My Tho
circa 1731 Vietnamese encroached and conquered

17. Preah Suorkea province
in Vietnamese - Baria
circa 1651 Vietnamese encroached and conquered

18. Koh Koang province
in Vietnamese - Go Cong
circa 1731 Vietnamese encroached and conquered

19. Kampong Russey province
in Vietnamese - Ben Tre
circa 1732 Vietnamese encroached and conquered

20. Kampong Kou province
(New name) in Vietnamese - Tan An
circa 1669 Vietnamese encroached and conquered

21. O Kab province
in Vietnamese - Vung Tau
circa 1651 Vietnamese encroached and conquered

22. Koh Tralach (Tralach Island)
in Vietnamese - Con Dao (Con Son)
circa 1765 Vietnamese encroached and conquered

23. Koh Tral (Tral Island)
in Vietnamese - Phu Quoc island
circa 1939 Vietnamese encroached and conquered

Koh Tral Island has an area of 567 square kilometers; about 62 kilometers long and between 3 kilometers and 28 kilometers wide. The island physically is located closest to Cambodia's Kep seaside city. Visitors can see Koh Tral Island from the coastline of Kep. It is about a 30-minute motorized boat ride.



Contact Us

Soun Sumedh
Personal Assistant to Venerable Rath, Muni
Blogger Admin

E-Mail: sounsumedh@yahoo.com

All rights reserved
July 2007

Live in Joy

Live in Joy, In love,
Even among those who hate.

Live in joy, In health,
Even among the afflicted.

Live in joy, In peace,
Even among the troubled.

Look within. Be still.
Free from fear and attachment,
Know the sweet joy of living in the way.

Venerable Rath, Muni's Weblog